After being bullied in middle school, I decided that polite rejection and occasionally being made fun of was probably a sign that people just were very busy. (Yes, I was delusional.) Every month or so, I’d try to throw a party. And every month or so, I’d be lucky if a single person attended. Stupid as I was, I actually believed them when they said that they were too busy to attend. It actually took me overhearing a group of them talking about what excuses they were going to use for my upcoming weekend party for me to realize that they hated me. RELATED: 10 Annoying Habits Of Needy People And How To Deal With Them It took years for me to overcome the hurt and rejection I felt from classmates, and yes, it led me down some very rough roads. However, there is a good ending to this. Eventually, I did find my own circle of friends and they’re a lot cooler and more successful than the people from my high school turned out to be. That being said, I also learned some lessons about having a better personality and being attractive as a friend. After all, realizing that people just feel forced to tolerate you is a great catalyst for positive change.

Here are 11 signs you’re annoying that I should have picked up on back in high school.

If you notice these things, you may want new friends… or to work on your personality.

1. They have lots of parties, don’t invite you to them, and never show up to any events you try to put together.

This is what really made me realize that I wasn’t as liked as I thought I was. When people don’t want to voluntarily hang out with you, they don’t like you. It’s just that simple.

2. You don’t ever end up in group photos on social media.

The reason why they don’t put you there is because they’re embarrassed to be seen with you. Remember, people see social media as a way to show off what a nice life they have. If they don’t want people to see them with you, that’s a sign you’re annoying and they’re embarrassed to be seen with you.

3. You’re always the last to know.

In high school, I was the last to know that one “friend” got an award in science and had a party to celebrate. When I asked why I wasn’t told or invited, it was always, “I forgot.” Nowadays, when this happens, I just stop talking to people and wait to see how long it takes until they realize I’ve dumped them.

4. When it comes to texting, you’re always the one who reaches out.

Do you feel like you constantly have to pull teeth just to get them to say something to you? Yeah, that’s a sign they probably just tolerate you or keep you around because you’re useful to them. RELATED: The Most Annoying Thing About You, Based On Your Birth Order

5. Inside jokes go over your head.

The reason why none of the inside jokes makes sense is because you’re really not on the inside. You just think you are.

6. Everyone knows where to go when they head out, except you.

When they tell you to “go to the club,” you don’t know what club they’re talking about. The reason why they know and you don’t is because they’ve gone there on a regular basis, and they just never invited you before.

7. You try to buy friends.

This is a big indicator that you probably know what’s up, and are trying to just make friends by paying their tab. If they won’t hang out with you without your wallet being a factor, they still aren’t your friends. (Sorry.)

8. Your friends don’t really want to talk to you, seem to want to ignore you, and might even talk over you.

Yeah, this is disrespectful and pretty hurtful. I know that feeling well. Sadly, this is a sign that you aren’t with people who are good to you. You might need to consider just bailing on them.

9. Your friends buy gifts for each other, but not you.

It’s not that they really forgot to give you a gift; it’s that you weren’t important enough for them to even consider it.

10. You feel pushed out.

You know that feeling like people are rushing every interaction they have with you or are ultimately holding back information that you probably should know? Yes, that’s a pretty good indicator that these people really just tolerate you rather than like you.

11. People tell you that you’re the friend no one likes.

Yes, I was told this back in high school. I didn’t believe it, but eventually, reality hit. Did it suck? Yes, but at the end of the day, it was my “friends’” loss. RELATED: What To Do When Your Husband Is Annoying & Everything He Does Irritates You Alex Alexander is a writer and frequent contributor to YourTango.