RELATED: 7 Things Truly Nice People Do Every Day That Make Us Adore Them I’ve been the rule-follower, the girl afraid to rock the boat. I hate confrontation because I hate having people unhappy. I plaster on a smile even when I’m angry inside. I’m the “yes” girl because, well, it seems like what nice girls would say. You Are Wrong About My Weakness You see me as this mousy brunette who won’t challenge the cruelties and unfairness you’re shoving at me. RELATED: Is He Taking Advantage Of You? 8 Signs You’re Trying Way Too Hard To Make Your Relationship Work Not Exactly Everything Nice. And, although I still believe in the value of being nice, I’ve come to realize some of the ideals taught in childhood are over-the-top and gender slanted. But thanks to you, I’ve come to realize that isn’t the truth. I’ve come to learn that sometimes the nice girl has to allow the inner fighter to emerge and flourish because being nice doesn’t mean you let yourself be degraded. I’ve learned to tweak my views and find the courage to rise up when I need to defend myself. RELATED: If You Notice These 11 Signs, Your Partner Is Taking You For Granted Lindsay Detwiler is the author of five contemporary romance novels including Voice of Innocence, Without You, Then Comes Love, Where Love Went, and To Say Goodbye. You can find out more about her on her website. at www.lindsaydetwiler.com,